Read. Watch. Go. Do 17/04/14

WATCH: Today New Zealand became the 14th country to bring in equal marriage. When the winning count was announced the gallery broke out into singing a traditional Maori love song.  On the day that the UK celebrates a politician who legalised discrimination against LGBT people in schools, I choose not to watch her funeral and instead to watch this.

Translated lyrics: “I have written you a letter, and enclosed with it my ring. If your people should see it, then the trouble will begin… My poor pen is broken, my paper is spent, But my love for you endures, and remains forever more.”

GO: Give blood! In the aftermath of the Boston Marathon bombings the American Red Cross were overwhelmed with donations of blood from local people to help the hundreds who had been injured. It reminded me that I haven’t given blood in four years having been prohibited for giving for a year after travelling to some weird places in Egypt. And that’s ridiculous because the need hasn’t gone down. So I’m making an appointment with the Edinburgh Blood Donor Centre for next week (I have a cold at the moment and they said I need to wait until it’s at the tail end).

DO: Sign up to Show Film First which offers free tickets to screenings of films and plays around the UK. We’re going to see Brian Friel’s Translations for free at the King’s in Edinburgh this evening. Free culture!

Leave a Reply

